Crowd-lending portfolio review for December 2020

Website changes

Happy new year ! 2020 has been a challenging year for all of us, both in terms of investments and personal / professional life. In the long run, the vaccine against Covid-19 offers a great hope to return to a normal life; however, the first semester will still be challenging.

I plan to work more actively on the website in 2021, starting with this portfolio report – it’s been many months since I published the previous one ! In addition, I will remove several outdated reviews such as Bondora’s, while focusing on the platforms I most appreciate. Among them, ReInvest24 is my top priority for a new review !

Individual platforms performance​​

Overall, the second semester has seen little disruption in terms of performance. In spite of renewed lockdowns in many countries, most platform seem to manage the second wave of Covid-19 much better than the first one.

Graphical overview

BitOfProperty

5.60%

BitOfProperty is a very low-key platform, but returns for this portfolio increase regularly. The performance now reaches 5.60%.

Bondora

3.38%

The performance of my Bondora portfolio is very stable, at 3.38%. I now use Go & Grow, which currently yields 6.75%; however, the very poor performance of my previous Portfolio Manager portfolio decreases my overall returns on this platform. Due to the poor performance of Bondora’s loan portfolio (which is unprofitable in many countries because of very bad recovery levels), I may actually close this portfolio entirely. I already reduced it by as much as 95% !.

Bondster

9.96%

In spite of a very large volume of delayed loans (half of my portfolio is delayed by more than 60 days !), the performance of my Bondster portfolio stays at a very reasonable level. It indeed stands at 9.96% in late December 2020.

Brickstarter

2.39%

Because the tourism industry was hit very hard by the Covid-19, Airbnb rentals through Brickstarter yielded very little interests in 2020. As a result, my XIRR now stands at 2.39%, one of the worst results among my portfolio’s platforms. Brickstarter now plans to focus on longer-term rentals, a market which should be more stable.

BulkEstate

8.55%

One loan on my BulkEstate portfolio was extended for 4 months (but partly repaid), while another is about to be defaulted. In spite of this, the performance stands at 8.55% and increases regularly. Along with EstateGuru, BulkEstate is the only portfolio I plan to expand greatly in 2021.

CrowdEstate

4.71%

Will the performance of my CrowdEstate portfolio ever climb above 5% ? I have my doubts. Indeed, several loans are greatly delayed while other proved to be scams. As a result, after three years on this platform, my current XIRR is only 4.71%. I have stopped reinvesting whatever little interest I get, and will divert these funds to EstateGuru and BulkEstate instead.

Crowdestor

12.13%

Nearly half of my Crowdestor portfolio is delayed, and several projects are unlikely to pay before long – such as loans granted to restaurants or touristic venues in South-East Asia -. In spite of this, my performance is still close to 12%; I also expect several large repayments in January, which should increase the returns.

Debitum Network

9.89%

The performance of my small Debitum Network portfolio is still hovering around 10%. The minimum portfolio size was increased in late 2020, and I’m currently below this new threshold. As a result, I’m still considering whether to increase it or wind it down entirely.

EstateGuru

7.32%

The performance of my EstateGuru is rather stable, at 7.32%. This rather low XIRR is caused by full bullet loans, which didn’t yield any interest yet. I have multiplied the size of my EstateGuru portfolio six times throughout 2020, and it’s just a start. Indeed, the reliability of this platform (and especially its very strong recovery process) make it one of my favorite platforms.

Iuvo

9.77%

Because of the decreasing interest rates, the performance of my Iuvo portfolio has decreased throughout 2020; it reached 9.77% at the end of December 2020.

Kviku

10.69%

I opened my Kviku portfolio inn October 2020. After 3 months on the platform, the performance reaches 10.69%; it’s a decent result. Although I prefer competitors such as Moncera or Robocash in terms of reliability, this platform is a great way to invest directly in loans issued by this originator without using Mintos.

Lendermarket

13.63%

Thanks to the high interest rates at Lendermarket, the performance of this portfolio reached 13.63%. There’s been some controversy regarding CreditStar (Lendermarket’s originator) as their level of pending payments on Mintos reached a very high level, and there was no communication on this topic. However, these payments now seem to be in line with their main competitors.

Mintos

12.82%

Switching my Mintos portfolio to the most reliable loan originators had a slight impact on its performance, which decreased below 13%. I currently invest only in loans from the following originators:

  • IuteCredit
  • Wowwo
  • DelfinGroup

I used to also include Placet Group and CreditStar in this selection, but now I invest directly through Moncera and Lendermarket respectively. Finally, I decided to remove Mogo from this list, as ExploreP2P’s rating for this originator decreased greatly. Around 8% of my portfolio is in recovery; this amount is spread between GetBucks, Capital Service and Monego. I have reasonable expectations for the recovery levels, but it will take time.

Moncera

9.69%

My Moncera has a slightly sub-optimal performance; indeed, the XIRR is now below 10%. There seems to be a stronger demand for loans than the platform can supply, which brings interest rates down (between 8% and 11% currently). On the other hand, it’s a clear vote of confidence from investors, which bodes well for the platform’s future !

Omaraha

18.71%

The number of defaults at Omaraha has greatly increased because of the Covid-19. As a result, the performance for this portfolio took a noticeable hit; it now stands at 18.71%, compared to more than 20% in early 2020. Of course, it’s still an excellent result; however, I doubt that new investors can get the same returns.

PeerBerry

11.33%

I love the performance/safety ratio of my PeerBerry portfolio. The XIRR reached 11.33% in late December 2020, which is more than satisfying when taking into account the reliability of the platform’s loan originators.

ReInvest24

5.86%

Although I still didn’t review ReInvest24, I really appreciate this platform. Albeit still low, the returns are increasing steadily – they reached 5.86% in December 2020 – and the loans volume has increased while the funding time decreased. Even better, the previous 2% commission was slashed in two, which will boost returns for new investments. Finally, it now features a secondary market.

Robocash

12.91%

The XIRR for my Robocash portfolio is now 12.91%, which is better than the current interest rates on the platform (12%). As most loans now pay interest rates monthly, I expect the performance to fluctuate less than in the past.

Swaper

12.49%

Month after month, the performance of my Swaper portfolio keeps on increasing thanks to the many loans yielding 14%.

Twino

8.82%

After resurrecting my Twino portfolio in August 2020, I’m still not 100% convinced by this platform. Indeed, the XIRR is only a pitiful 8.82%; most competitors offer much better returns and more transparency.

ViaInvest

10.27%

My ViaInvest portfolio currently has a XIRR of 10.27%. In spite of the low loans volume and the dated interface, I’m satisfied with this platform.

Viventor

13.40%

Many pending payments finally reached my account in November 2020, which made my XIRR jump above 13%. In spite of this, I will probably stop investing there, as both the platform and its main loan originator seem to be in a bad financial shape.

Global portfolio performance

2.87%

After suffering large losses on scam platforms, the overall performance of my portfolio is slowly increasing again.

Current allocation

After a great downsizing, my Omaraha portfolio nearly reached its target level. In the coming months, I mostly plan to grow my EstateGuru and BulkEstate portfolios, while decreasing the size of my CrowdEstate portfolio.

New platforms

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.