Esketit review

Table of contents

Esketit's overview

Esketit was launched by the founders of Latvian lending group Creamfinance. This platform lists mostly short-term consumer loans with 10% – 14% annual interest rate. They’re secured by a buyback guarantee A buyback guarantee is a guarantee provided by the platform or a loan originator. If repayment of a loan is delayed by more than a given delay (usually 30 or 60 days), the platform or loan originator will buy back the loan. The guarantee may cover only part of the capital, or in a much more interesting case, both the capital and accrued interests. As the conditions vary from one platform to another, it’s very important to check this point. which triggers after a 60 days delay.

My opinion on Esketit

So many platforms were founded by – or related to – lending groups in 2020 and 2021 that it’s easy to overlook Esketit. However, this platform offers several advantages over most competitors :

  • interests rates can be as high as 14%, a rare occurrence nowadays
  • loans from Jordan offer a great opportunity for geographical diversification
  • the loans volume is large enough to prevent the cash drags which sometimes plague competitors such as ViaInvest or Afranga.

Detailed ratings

Actual performance

The XIRR for my Esketit portfolio reaches 12.5% after a semester, which is great.

Loans liquidity

Unlike several competitors, Esketit provides a loan supply large enough to meet the demand.

Reporting

Esketit’s website provides the usual array of statistics. They could be enhanced by showing charts like Afranga does.

Transparency & reliability

2020 was a bad year for Creamfinance, as they posted a loss and ran into regulatory troubles in Denmark. However, they fared much better in 2021.

Website ergonomics

Investing using Esketit’s website is straightforward.

Esketit's pros & cons

Pros

  • Interesting geographical diversification
  • Higher interest rates than most competitors
  • User-friendly website
  • Large loans volume

Cons

  • Lack of group guarantee on loans from Jordan – which offer the highest yield –

Loans characteristics

Loans durations

Short-term : less than one month

Medium-term : one month to one year

Loans kinds

Individual

Minimal investment

€10

Buyback guarantee

Buyback guarantee available

Currencies

EUR – Euro

Overview of Esketit's loans

Esketit lists consumer loans in euro, which all yield interests monthly.

Interest rates depend on the country. As of early 2022, loans from Czech Republic yield 10% annually (they used to yield 12% for most of 2021). Interest rates for other countries are stable; Spanish loans have 12% interest rate, while more speculative loans from Jordan yield a very interesting 14%.

In terms of duration, loans from Jordan and Spain are very short-term (one month), while loans from Czech Republic can be longer than two years – a large increase from previous durations -.

The platforms also works with loan originators from Sri Lanka and Mexico, but as of January 2022 no loan is available from either of these countries.

Like all competitors, the minimal investment is €10.

Loans volume

Most peer-to-peer platforms suffer from a cash drag at some point. Until now, it wasn’t the case at Esketit, as the loans supply is large enough to meet the demand.

The total amount financed through the platform is close to twenty million euros. It’s a rather large figure for a recent platform. Loans from Jordan make up 80% of the total volume, followed by Spain (around 15%) and Czech Republic (the remaining 5%).

Buyback guarantee

All loans on the platform come with a buyback guarantee – which is actually called buyback obligation on the platform -. It triggers after 60 days, which seems to have become the de-facto trigger delay.

In addition, all loans issued by lending companies from Creamfinance group are covered by a group guarantee. It means that Creamfinance will fulfill the buyback obligation if the loan originator is unable to do so.

Platform’s transparency and reliability

There’s no denying that Creamfinance isn’t as financially strong as, let’s say, Moncera‘s Placet Group or Robocash. However, this lending group is solid enough to belong to a diversified portfolio. In addition, Esketit provides a lot of information regarding the loan originators and the investing process.

Esketit’s background and team

Esketit is a recent platform : it started operating in December 2020. It was launched by Davis Barons and Matiss Ansviesulis, the founders of Creamfinance.

Loans descriptions

Esketit doesn’t disclose any information about the borrowers. Basically, only the financial terms are available : interest rate, repayment schedule.

Loan originators reliability

The loan originators present on the platform are :

A well-designed page provides an overview of the loan originators present on the platform.

Let’s start with the largest group of loan originators, which belong to Creamfinance.

I will first clear a common confusion. The lending group Creamfinance is totally unrelated to the crypto project with the same name (which is actually an acronym for Crypto Rules Everything Around Me). The latter made the headlines recently as it lost 130 millions after a hack.

Creamfinance’s financial statements for year 2018 through 2020 are available for download. The group was profitable in 2018 and 2019; however, in 2020, it turned a loss equivalent to 2019’s 800k€ profit. Things seem to have improved a lot in 2021, though; the latest interim report available shows a record profit of €2,200,000 for the first nine months alone !

As usual, in addition to checking the financial reports, my reference for evaluating loan originators’ reliability is ExploreP2P’s ratings for Mintos originators. They currently rate Creamfinance 62 out of 100 – this rating was increased thanks to the great financial results for 2021 -. This rating is much lower than for Robocash and Moncera (around 80), but it’s similar to many competitors such as ViaInvest, Afranga, Lendermarket or Kviku.

Regarding the Jordanian company Money for Finance, financial reports aren’t available yet – they’re apparently being audited and should be published soon -. Still, the platform provides some information regarding this loan originator, as well as a some additional financial information for download.

Reporting & statistics availability

Esketit‘s statistics page is complete. It displays various statistics such as the platform’s portfolio size or number of investors.

Track record

The platform is too recent to actually have a meaningful track record.

Platform's features

Early exit

Early exit available

Investing methods

Auto-invest

Manual investing

Manual investing

Investing manually at Esketit is easy, thanks to a large array of filters :

  • Loan kind
  • Country
  • Interest rate and duration
  • Loan originator
  • Presence of a buyback obligation
  • Remaining term and available amount
  • Presence or absence of loans extensions

A handy feature is the ability to exclude loans already invested in. What’s missing, however, is a filter for the group guarantee, which provides an additional safety layers for investors.

Auto-invest

As usual, it’s highly recommended to save time by using auto-invest instead of selecting loans manually.

Esketit allows to create several auto-invest strategies. This can be useful in order to split a portfolio between several loan originators, for example.

The filters are roughly the same as when investing manually. The auto-invest screen displays the number of matching loans, which is very handy. As one can see on the next screenshot, there’s no shortage of loans matching my loose criteria !

Secondary market

Like most competitors – apart from Lendermarket -, Esketit provides a secondary market for investors who want to sell their loans before maturity.

There’s no associated fee at all : the secondary market is free for both the buyer and the seller. The seller can set a premium or discount; however, all loans currently for sale are listed either with a premium or at face value.

In addition to using the secondary market, Esketit may also rebuy portfolios for a 1% discount.

Esketit versus Mintos

Loans from Creamfinance are still listed at Mintos. However, it makes little sense to invest through this marketplace rather than on Esketit.

Indeed, only Polish loans are available on Mintos (while they can’t be found on Esketit). Their interest rates are currently 8.5%, much lower than the 12% offered by Creamfinance for loans from Spain (or even the 10% in Czech Republic).

In addition, Esketit’s secondary market is free, whereas Mintos charges the seller.

Website’s ease of use

Languages

English, German

Funding methods

Available languages & translations quality

Esketit‘s website is available in English and German. The English translation is basically perfect – it still puzzles me to see that so many peer-to-peer platforms have excellent translators, and other such as Robocash or HeavyFinance just fail to get it done properly -.

Esketit's registration process

The registration process is quick and easy. The KYC KYC (Know Your Customer) checks are procedures used by financial businesses in order to verify the identity of their clients. Most Crowdlending platforms will require a copy of an identification document (identity card, passport, driving licence); an utility bill or bank statement may be necessary as well. check uses Veriff and is thus painless.

Account funding and funds withdrawal

The only way to fund your account is via a SEPA transfer. My first transfer was stuck somewhere on Esketit‘s side, and I had to contact the support. Fortunately it was sorted out very quickly.

Withdrawals are free.

Website’s design and ergonomics

I’m not a huge fan of the website’s color scheme, but it’s just a matter of personal taste. What’s important is that it’s easy to use and works smoothly.

Reporting

The portfolio statistic on Esketit‘s website are rather complete. However, I would appreciate to see data such as loan statuses displayed as a pie chart, or the ability to visualize the portfolio’s diversification. The transactions list as well as the portfolio can be exported to Excel. I only wish we could filter the transactions; such a feature would be useful for investors who want to list their deposits in order to compute their portfolio’s XIRR.

Documentation

The FAQ A FAQ is simply a compilation of Frequently Asked Questions is very complete and broken down by topic. Moreover, the platform’s introduction on the “How it works” page is well thought-out.

Communication & support

Overall, Esketit is a quiet platform. New features or important information are sent via e-mail at most once per month.

One way to get answers from the platform is to use the Telegram group dedicated to Esketit. Indeed, the platform’s CEO Vitālijs Zalovs is present and answers investors’ questions.

Official Esketit pages on social networks

Support

For more specific requests, it’s also possible to contact Esketit‘s’ support by e-mail. As mentioned above, it was very responsive when the funds didn’t reach my account. I contacted them later as I saw a bug on the secondary market – several labels weren’t translated anymore – and it also got fixed quickly.

Actual performance of my Esketit portfolio

12,63%

At the end of December 2021, the XIRR for my Esketit portfolio was 12,63%.

With a performance close to 13%, I'm very satisfied with this portfolio.

Don't hesitate to read my most recent crowdlending portfolio review for detailed platforms performance comparison as well as historical performance.

For a detailed comparison of the different p2p-lending marketplaces, check out this article.

Portfolio creation date

I created my Esketit portfolio in May 2021

Esketit's main competitors

Esketit's facts & figures

Location

Dublin, Ireland

Founding year

2021

Number of investors

1,264

Loans amount financed

€19,506,969

As of January 2022

Who can invest at Esketit

Anyone who is at least 18 years old and older and has a bank account of the EU or EEA can become an investor.

Esketit's FAQ

In conclusion...

Although Esketit isn't my top choice when it comes to consumer loans (that would be Robocash), I appreciate the platform and the related loan originators. Thanks to their great financial results in 2021, I'm likely to grow this portfolio.

Disclosure

Please note that this review may contain affiliate links. It means that I will earn a commission if you decide to invest after clicking through the link – at no additional cost to you, of course -. Please understand that I have experienced all of these companies, and I recommend them because they are helpful and useful, not because of the commissions I make if you decide to invest through my links.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.