Excerpt of the loans listing at Lendermarket

Lendermarket review

Lendermarket’s overview

Lendermarket allows to invest in short-term individual loans yielding 14% annually; they’re secured by a buyback guarantee.

My opinion on Lendermarket

Thanks to 14% interest rates, very reliable loan originators and a simple but effective website, Lendermarket‘s offer is very appealing.

Detailed ratings

Actual performance

My Lendermarket portfolio is fairly new and I regularly add funds; as a result, its performance didn’t reach its full potential yet.

Loans liquidity

Although all loans come from a reduced set of originators, there are many of them.

Reporting

The reporting is very simple but effective given the simplicity of the offer.

Transparency & reliability

I appreciate the overall transparency level of the platform as well as the reliability of the loan originators.

Website ergonomics

Lendermarket’s website is very user-friendly.

Lendermarket’s pros & cons

Pros

  • Very reliable loan originators
  • High interest rates for high-quality loans
  • Extremely user-friendly interface

Cons

  • No secondary market

Loans characteristics

Loans duration

Short-term : one month or less

Medium-term : one month to one year

Loans kinds

Individual

Minimal investment

€ 10

Buyback guarantee

Buyback guarantee available

Currencies

EUR – Euro

Overview of Lendermarket’s loans

Lendermarket offers short-term and medium-term loans in Euro. Initially, the interest rate was a uniform 12% for a duration of one month or less.

However, in March 2020, the platform increased the interest rate to a very interesting 14%. This may be a consequence of the lower demand from investors caused by the coronavirus. Durations have also increased a lot. Indeed, although it’s still possible to invest in short-term loans as of June 2020, many loans on the platform now have durations between three and five years !

Initially, borrowers lived either in Spain – a country where the economy is highly affected by the Covid-19 – or Poland. Loans from other countries were introduced in April 2020; they include Czech Republic, Finland, Estonia, Sweden and Denmark. All these loans yield interests monthly.

Excerpt of the loans listing at Lendermarket
Excerpt of the loans listing at Lendermarket

The minimal investment is € 10, a very standard amount for P2P loans.

Loans volume

While Lendermarket currently doesn’t provide statistics regarding the loans volume, there’s a very large number of loans available (slightly more than two thousand as I’m updating this review in August 2020).

Loan originators

The loan originators at Lendermarket are one of the platform’s great strengths. Indeed, they’re all subsidiaries of Creditstar (one originator for each country). This large lending group is overall regarded as financially solid.

Creditstar also issues loan on Mintos – although the volume there is rather reduced now that they mostly appear at Lendermarket -. It’s rated B by Mintos, and 74 out of 100 on Explore P2P’s ratings for Mintos originators.

Lendermarket does a good job at providing information about Creditstar; indeed, both a company presentation and the latest annual report are available for download on the website. However, as already pointed out, there’s no detailed financial data for each country, as only consolidated figures for the whole group are available.

Information about Creditstar
Information about Creditstar

In August 2020, unaudited Creditstar results for Q2 2020 became available. The main information is that the group remained profitable in spite of the coronavirus, which is very encouraging.

Buyback guarantee

The delay for the buyback guarantee A buyback guarantee is a guarantee provided by the platform or a loan originator.
If repayment of a loan is delayed by more than a given delay (usually 30 or 60 days),
the platform or loan originator will buy back the loan. The guarantee may cover only
part of the capital, or in a much more interesting case, both the capital and accrued
interests. As the conditions vary from one platform to another, it’s very important
to check this point.
is 60 days, which is a bit longer than for most competitors. The buyback guarantee covers both capital and accrued interests.

Platform’s transparency and reliability

Overall, Lendermarket seems to be a reliable platform. The first positive aspect is that it’s incorporated in Ireland, where regulations are stronger than in Baltic states – although the team is actually based in Latvia -.

Moreover, as pointed out, the loan originators are subsidiaries of a large lending group, which is regarded as really reliable.

On the minus side, there are several minor points to improve in terms of transparency :

  • Although a lot of data is provided regarding Creditstar as a whole, it’s not possible to know how well each individual originator fares.
  • The website lacks a presentation of Lendermarket’s team.
  • The platform currently doesn’t provide information regarding the number of investors or the overall loans volume on the platform.

Finally, like for all recent platforms, there are uncertainties regarding the future. Indeed, we’ll have to see whether Lendermarket will attract enough investors to be profitable.

Impact of Covid-19 outbreak on Lendermarket

One very visible consequence of the coronavirus pandemic is the increase of interest rates, from 12% to 14%. Several competitors such as Swaper or Robocash had similar moves. These higher rates reflect the higher demand from borrowers while investors get more wary about investing in loans, as well as the increased risk of default.

Also, as many borrowers are located in Spain, existing loans from Lendermarket are obviously impacted by the Covid-19 outbreak. As a result, many of them get extended. I also noticed that the percentage of current loans in my portfolio has dropped very significantly; at some point it stood at around 15%, compared to more than 90% earlier ! However, the situation has now improved a lot. Indeed, 75% of the loans are current.

Platform’s features

Early exit

Early exit NOT AVAILABLE

Investing methods

Auto-invest

Manual investing

Secondary market

There’s no secondary market on Lendermarket. This isn’t a big deal for now, as all loans are very short-term (one month or less).

Manual investing at Lendermarket

As always, I recommend using the auto-invest feature rather than investing manually. However, it’s still possible and easy to invest manually at Lendermarket, through the “Loans listing” screen. Only two filters are currently available : interest rate and loan term.

Unlike most platforms, only very basic data is provided about the borrower.

Loan detail at Lendermarket
Loan detail at Lendermarket

Auto-invest

Like basically everything on Lendermarket‘s website, the screen for auto-invest is very well designed. As a result, configuring it is really straightforward – especially because nearly all fields are pre-filled correctly -. Even for beginner investors, setting it up properly will be a will a breeze.

Lendermarket's auto-invest configuration
Lendermarket's auto-invest configuration

One minor improvement I’ve requested to the platform is to add a confirmation before deleting an auto-invest. I clicked by mistake on the “Delete” instead of “Edit” and my auto-invest was gone ! Luckily it was a trivial task to re-create it.

Website’s ease of use

Languages

English

Funding methods

Lendermarket’s registration process

The registration process took very little time. Even the KYC KYC (Know Your Customer) checks are procedures used by financial businesses
in order to verify the identity of their clients. Most Crowdlending platforms will require
a copy of an identification document (identity card, passport, driving licence); an utility bill
or bank statement may be necessary as well.
process which sometimes drives me crazy was painless, as it uses Veriff. The platform validated my document in one day.

Account funding and funds withdrawal

Website’s design and ergonomics

I really appreciate the design and ergonomics of Lendermarket‘s website. It’s very readable, easy to navigate, and all features are extremely easy to use. It’s without a doubt one of the most user-friendly P2P lending website I’ve ever reviewed !

Available languages & translations quality

Currently, Lendermarket‘s website is only available in English.

Reporting

Lendermarket‘s dashboard is simple and readable; it shows basic statistics about the loans portfolio. I however regret that it displays the average interest rate of the portfolio instead of the actual performance.

In addition, the website also offers the usual reporting features, such as the investments list and account statement. For some reason, although the investments list can be downloaded, it’s not the case for the account statement.

Documentation

The description of the investing process is clear although not extremely detailed. On the other hand, the FAQ A FAQ is simply a compilation of Frequently Asked Questions is very complete.

Support

It’s possible to reach Lendermarket‘s support by phone or email. I didn’t have the opportunity to get in touch with them yet.

Communication from the platform​

Notifications from Lendermarket are configurable : it’s possible to choose the frequency of the summaries, be notified of deposits, and choose whether to receive marketing offers.

Actual performance of my Lendermarket portfolio

12,85%

At the end of July 2020, the XIRR for my Lendermarket portfolio was 12,85%.

Although the performance of my Lendermarket is still below its theoretical value, it increases steadily. However, it should take some time to actually reach it as I plan to increase the size of this portfolio - which means the performance may actually decrease for some time -

Don't hesitate to read my most recent crowdlending portfolio review for detailed platforms performance comparison as well as historical performance.

Portfolio creation date

I created my Lendermarket portfolio in November 2019.

Lendermarket's main competitors

For a detailed comparison of the different p2p-lending marketplaces, check out this article.

Lendermarket's facts & figures

Location

Dublin, Ireland

Founded in

2019

As of February 2020

Who can invest at Lendermarket

We invite both individuals and companies to invest through Lendermarket platform. Individual investors are required to be at least 18 years old, have a bank account in the European Economic Area (or Switzerland) and their identity successfully verified by the Lendermarket team. Family trusts, partnerships, limited liability companies and other organizations must have a bank account in a bank located in the EEA (or Switzerland).

Lendermarket's FAQ

Disclosure

Please note that this review may contain affiliate links. It means that I will earn a commission if you decide to invest after clicking through the link – at no additional cost to you, of course -. Please understand that I have experienced all of these companies, and I recommend them because they are helpful and useful, not because of the commissions I make if you decide to invest through my links.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.