A very small sample of Mintos loans list

Mintos review

Mintos’s overview

Mintos is one of the largest peer-to-peer lending platforms; they offer a huge volume of loans of all kinds and durations.

My opinion on Mintos

Mintos‘ success is well deserved ! They deliver an excellent and very regular performance, and the impressive loans volume means that basically any amount can be invested without fearing a cash drag. Also, thanks to the availability of investing methods other than manual or auto-invest, even beginner investors can easily invest through the platform.

Detailed ratings

Performance

While interest rates can vary greatly depending on supply and demand, the overall performance of my Mintos portfolio is excellent.

Loans liquidity

Mintos‘s large number of originators ensures a huge loans volume.

Reporting

Many statistics and charts are available, allowing investors to quickly get an overview of their portfolio’s content.

Buyback guarantee

The buyback guarantee triggers after a 60 days delay, which is a bit long.

Website ergonomics

Overall, Mintos’ website is very user-friendly; the only exception is the auto-invest screen, which may intimidate beginner investors by its apparent complexity.

Mintos’s pros & cons

Pros

  • A huge quantity of loans available
  • The platform features many originators, allowing you to diversify your portfolio
  • Opportunity to invest in many countries and different currencies
  • Overall ergonomics is excellent
  • Opportunity to invest via pre-defined strategies or use Invest & Access for easy investing

Cons

  • Auto-invest can be tricky to configure for beginners

Loans characteristics

Loans duration

Short-term : one month or less

Medium-term : one month to one year

Long-term : more than one year

Loans kinds

Individual

Minimal investment

€ 10

Buyback guarantee

Buyback guarantee available

Currencies

EUR – Euro

PLN – Polish Zloty

CZK – Czech Koruna

RON – Romanian Lei

DKK – Danish krone

GBP – Pound sterling

GEL – Georgian lari

KZT – Kazakhstani tenge

MXN – Mexican peso

RUB – Russian ruble

SEK – Swedish krona

USD – US Dollar

Overview of Mintos’s loans

Mintos offers an impressive array of loan kinds, in many countries and thus many different currencies. As usual, I’ll focus on Euro loans here.

After enjoying interest rates as high as 15% during most of Spring and Summer 2019, interest decreased again; in late August 2019, the highest interest rate found on the platform is 12.5% for secured loans.

Nearly half of the available loans are personal loans, around 30% are short-term loans and 17% are car loans. The remaining loans are spread between business loans, mortgage loans and invoice financing.

With a very wide array of loans to invest in, it’s not surprising that durations vary greatly – from one month to more than six years -.

Mintos’ cashback campaigns

A great way to boost your returns is to sign up for Mintos’ campaigns, and direct your investments accordingly. For example, they may give 1% cashback if you invest in loans from a given originator, or in long-term loans. Campaigns change often, so it’s something to keep an eye on !

Unlike most other platforms, it’s necessary to explicitly sign-up for a campaign in order to enjoy the bonus.

Loans volume

In July 2019, the volume of loans funded through the platform was more than € 250,000,000. Needless to say that this amount is huge and liquidity isn’t a concern !

Issuers

As I’m updating this article in August 2019, I expected Mintos to feature 30 or 40 loans originators. It turns out there are actually more than 60 ! While not all may currently be active, it’s still a very impressive number.

An excerpt of Mintos' loans originators list
An excerpt of Mintos' loans originators list

The platform will send notifications as new originators are added, giving investors the opportunity to include them in their auto-invest portfolio.

Like most competitors, Mintos uses a mechanism called “skin in the game”, which means that the originators have to keep a portion of the loans (usually 10%). This ensures that the originators provides quality loans, as they will be directly impacted if the borrower defaults. Mintos FAQ has a great explanation of the skin in the game, which I incite you to read.

Also, since August 2018, they started rating their originators, from A+ (safest companies) to D (defaulted originators). It’s possible to configure the auto-invest to use only selected ratings, which is great for investors’ safety !

Explanation of Mintos rating for loans originators
Explanation of Mintos rating for loans originators

Unfortunately, with so many originators available, it’s hard to avoid having sub-standard firms among them. In May 2018, EuroCent went bankrupt; in summer 2019, investors still don’t know how much capital they’ll get back, as the court processes got delayed.

There’s also the case of Aforti, which delayed payments to the platforms (this also affected Viventor) for a week or so. Fortunately the situation got resolved, but investors with a large share of loans from this originator probably didn’t sleep well. This once more emphasizes the need for a large diversification !

Buyback guarantee

Most loans on Mintos are covered by a buyback guarantee. The delay necessary to trigger it is rather long (60 days); it’s the same for all originators.

Platform’s features

Early exit

Early exit available

Investing methods

Auto-invest

Manual investing

Secondary market

There’s a secondary market available, should you ever want to resell your loans. The platform used to charge a 1% commission on these operations; however, they lifted this fee in November 2017.

Mintos’ various investing methods

Mintos actually offers 4 different ways to invest in loans. In addition to the classical manual and automatic investing, it’s possible to choose pre-defined strategies for auto-invest, as well as the recently added “Invest & access”.

Mintos’ “Invest & Access”

In Spring 2019, Mintos launched Invest & Access. Although this investing method is extremely easy to use, it also has several drawback investors should be aware of.

Using Mintos' Invest & Access is trivial
Using Mintos' Invest & Access is trivial

Let’s start with the positive aspects : first, the only configuration needed to use Invest & Access is the size of the target portfolio. That’s all ! This amount will be automatically allocated through available loans. This simplicity makes it very easy for beginner investors to use Mintos. In addition, liquidating all or part of your portfolio is as simple as clicking a button; however, it will only sell current loans. Indeed, late loans will have to be sold manually on the secondary market – although it’s probably better to wait for buyback –

Unfortunately, returns will be lower than when using auto-invest, as it’s not possible to set a minimal interest rate. As I’m updating this article in late August 2019, the average return for Invest & Access is 10.48%, which is at least 2% less than my portfolio’s performance. Also, the way loans are allocated are rather opaque, and several investors complained of a poor portfolio’s diversification.

The minimal amount for Invest & Access is currently € 500, but Mintos has plans to decrease it..

Predefined strategies

For investors who don’t want to bother with configuring auto-invest, Mintos now offers predefined strategies. There are three of them, named Short-term strategy, Diversification strategy and Secured loan strategy.

The indicative returns currently vary between 7% and 8.5%, which is lower than what you could get using custom auto-invest settings. When the pre-defined strategies were launched, the indicative returns were as high as 12.5%; they have since dropped significantly !

Investors interested in easy ways to invest can refer to my article on one-click investing; it compares Mintos’ predefined strategies, Ekassa, DoFinance and Bondora‘s Go & Grow.

Manual investing

While I encourage investors to take advantage of the auto-invest feature to save time, starting by investing manually can be less intimidating for beginner investors. While there are many available filters, the screen layout for manual investing looks much simpler than the auto-invest screen pictures below.

The filters include :

  • Currency
  • Interest rate
  • loan duration
  • Loan type
  • Borrower’s country
  • Originator and originator rating
  • Presence of a buyback guarantee
  • Status
  • Amortization method
  • Initial and current LTV (loan-to-value ratio)

Auto-invest

Mintos‘ auto-invest screen can be rather intimidating, as it’s possible to configure it extensively for each originator. Unfortunately, as the number of originators grew, the screen became less and less user-friendly, and lost a few useful features.

Upper part of Mintos' auto-invest screen
Upper part of Mintos' auto-invest screen

While there’s a very large number of checkboxes on the screen, it’s actually not necessary to manage them by hand. Most investors will prefer using the selectors at the top. These allow to choose :

  • The ratings for the originator
  • The loans types
  • The borrower’s country
  • The presence or absence of a buyback guarantee

At the bottom of the screen, two sliders allow to select the interest rates interval, as well as the loans duration. Finally, investors have to choose the portfolio size, whether to reinvest or not, and the minimal/maximal loan size.

In earlier versions, this screen displayed the number of loans matching the criteria. This feature has unfortunately disappeared, making it harder to choose only the highest interest rates.

On the other hand, a handy feature is the neat option to diversify the loans portfolio across loans originators. This will help mitigate the risks in case things go wrong with one of them; I strongly encourage investors to check this box.

Website’s ease of use

Languages

English, Czech, German, Spanish, Latvian, Polish, Russian

Funding methods

Mintos’s registration process

Registering as an investor at Mintos is quick and easy. In addition to providing basic information about themselves, prospective investors need to upload a copy of an identification document.

Account funding and funds withdrawal

Website’s design and ergonomics

Mintos‘ website is well designed and looks great. It’s easy to navigate and use most features; as I already mentioned, the only exception is probably the auto-invest screen.

Available languages & translations quality

Mintos‘ website is available in many languages; the English translation is excellent.

Reporting

All standard reporting features are available at Mintos; both account statement and current investments can be exported as an Excel file.

In addition, I greatly appreciate being able to evaluate the diversification of my portfolio through a pie chart showing the originators; it’s also very easy to see the overall interest rates or durations. I only wish the fonts were slightly larger !

Portfolio statistics at Mintos
Portfolio statistics at Mintos

Documentation

There’s a lot of documentation available ! If the How it works sections is too generic to my taste, the Getting started guide is informative, albeit slightly too concise. The FAQ is really complete and will answer most investors’ questions; in addition, the blog makes for a good read as it serves to announce noteworthy changes.

Support

It’s possible to get in touch by e-mail, live chat or phone.

Communication from the platform​

Notifications are configurable. It’s possible to choose to receive a daily summary e-mail, as well as notifications for deposits, withdrawals and bonus payments. In addition, opting-in to Mintos’ informative newsletter is highly recommended !

Actual performance of my Mintos portfolio

13,29%

At the end of October 2019, the XIRR for my Mintos portfolio was 13,29%.

The performance for this portfolio is rather stable, in spite of the sometimes sudden changes of interest rates.

Don't hesitate to read my most recent crowdlending portfolio review for detailed platforms performance comparison as well as historical performance.

Mintos's main competitors

For a detailed comparison of the different p2p-lending marketplaces, check out this article.

Mintos's facts & figures

Location

Riga, Latvia

Founded in

2014

Number of investors

170,543

Loans amount financed

€ 3,032,671,302

Historical return

12.26%

As of August 2019

Who can invest at Mintos

Both individuals and entities can invest through Mintos. Individual investors must be at least 18 years old, have a bank account in the European Union or third countries currently considered to have AML/CFT systems equivalent to the EU, and have their identity successfully verified by Mintos.

Family trusts, partnerships, limited liability companies and other organizations must have a bank account and be registered in the EU or third countries currently considered to have AML/CFT systems equivalent to the EU.

Mintos FAQ

Disclosure

Please note that this review may contain affiliate links. It means that I will earn a commission if you decide to invest after clicking through the link – at no additional cost to you, of course -. Please understand that I have experienced all of these companies, and I recommend them because they are helpful and useful, not because of the commissions I make if you decide to invest through my links.

12 thoughts on “Mintos review”

    • Many thanks for pointing this out ! I fixed this stupid mistake, and changed my #1 resolution for 2019 to “learn some geography” 🙂

      Have a great day !

      Reply
  1. FYI

    In 2017, I invested in GEL currency loans as well.
    I fully agree that the currency conversion rate delivered by MINTOS killed the expected high yields.

    Then I moved to RUB and KZT currency loans using now TRANSFERWISE and PAYSERA.
    So far (after 10 months), my RUB and KZT shares are growing nice and slow: no bad debts and XIRR around 17%.
    Give it a try, eventually…

    Reply
  2. Really interesting but can someone please explain to me how this guy (link below) is making 19%+ yearly returns on the P2P platform Mintos after all fees/costs in EURO??! He talks about some interesting strategies but wanted to hear some outside opinions too.
    http://mintosboyz.com/

    Reply
  3. Mintos is good platform with rapidly growing investor and Loan Originator count. Easy to use and understand. So far so good!
    Would recommend to everyone.
    [spam removed]

    Reply
  4. If you set an auto-invest portfolio, the system will look through the already existing offered loans, or only the new ones coming out?

    Reply
    • Mintos (and actually all other platforms AFAIK) will use the existing loans. It means that if your criteria allow it, your funds will be invested instantly. Of course, if your criteria are too strict, the system will have to wait for new loans to eventually match your auto-invest settings.

      Reply
      • Actually Mintos Auto Invest does not seem to work this way; after selecting a list of criteria the saved strategy keeps only the criterias for which there are loan originators available at the time the strategy was created.
        So apparently if someone wants to apply all chosen criteria he will have to create a new strategy when the corresponding loans will be available.

        Reply
        • Hi Michael,

          Thanks for pointing out that my explanation isn’t exactly crystal-clear ! What I mean is that the combo boxes at the top can be used instead of checking boxes for each and every originator. However, this is a indeed a static mechanism; for example, if an originator offers loan in a new country, one still has to update the auto-invest by checking it manually (or play with the combo boxes again).

          I will try to rewrite my description in a better way – unfortunately I sometimes struggle to express what I really want as English isn’t my mother tongue –

          Have a great day !

          Reply
  5. I personally am wondering if platforms focusing on consumer loans have a future in the long term.
    Having all these high rate consumer loans given to borrower without most of the time any asset securing them isn’t the safest way.
    The model make me think about the subprimes. I am wondering what would happen if the market crashes.
    Therefore I would preferably invest in projects/loans that are backed by assets such as in real estate investments from platforms like crowdestate.

    For the rest, I believe Mintos works great and provides great flexibility in the investments.

    Reply
    • Good points. Instead of Mintos’ own ratings, I suggest this website: https://explorep2p.com/mintos-lender-ratings/
      There you can see how the two major OP’s loan originators have negative equities and negative latest profit.
      I personally avoid these, as they are the more likely to default, even though that data is relatively old.

      Also, even if the loan is assets backed, the risk is still mainly linked to the LOs. Really, good luck getting your money back once the LO defaults and Mintos by policy stops any secondary market trading.

      Great platform though, very attractive!

      Reply

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.