Mintos review

Table of contents

Mintos's overview

Mintos is one of the largest peer-to-peer lending platforms. They offer a huge volume of loans of all kinds and durations.

My opinion on Mintos

Mintos is a very polarizing platform. Indeed, many investors lost money when several loan originators defaulted. At the same time, several other investors report that their Mintos portfolio provides the best performance among their peer-to-peer loans portfolios.

I tend to agree with the latter group, and consider that Mintos success is well deserved. Indeed, my portfolio delivers an excellent and very regular performance. Moreover, the impressive loans volume means that basically any amount can be invested without fearing a cash drag. Finally, thanks to the availability of Mintos strategies, even beginner investors can easily invest through the platform – although, as we’ll see, I basically recommend against using them -.

Of course, there’s still a lot of room for improvement. This especially holds true when it comes to providing reliable information about the loan originators – or even onboarding reliable ones -.

Additionally, now that many lending groups provide their own platforms, there’s no denying that Mintos isn’t as essential as it used to be.

Overall, as long as investors are aware of potential risks, Mintos proves to be an excellent choice to add some additional diversification to a loans portfolio.

Detailed ratings

Actual performance

While interest rates can vary greatly depending on supply and demand, the overall performance of my Mintos portfolio is excellent.

Loans liquidity

Mintos‘s large number of originators ensures a huge loans volume.

Reporting

Many statistics and charts are available. This allows investors to quickly get an overview of their portfolio’s content.

Transparency & reliability

As a platform, Mintos itself seems reliable and has become more transparent. It’s too bad that their due diligence process on loan originators seems flawed !

Website ergonomics

Overall, Mintos’ website is very user-friendly. The only exception is the auto-invest screen, which may intimidate beginner investors by its complexity.

Mintos's pros & cons

Pros

  • Huge volume of loans
  • Opportunity to invest in many countries and even different currencies
  • Great overall ergonomics, although setting up auto-invest is difficult for beginners
  • Opportunity to invest via "ready-made" strategies for easy investing
  • The platform features many originators, allowing you to diversify your portfolio – but be aware of the risks ! –
  • Mintos obtained both investment firm and electronic money institution licenses

Cons

  • Several risky originators are present on the platform
  • Auto-invest can be tricky to configure for beginners
  • Interest rates fluctuate a lot throughout the year

Loans characteristics

Loans durations

Short-term : less than one month

Medium-term : one month to one year

Long-term : more than one year

Loans kinds

Individual

Minimal investment

€10

Buyback guarantee

Buyback guarantee available

Currencies

EUR – Euro

KZT

PLN – Polish Zloty

RUB

Overview of Mintos's loans

Mintos offers an impressive array of loan kinds, in many countries and thus several different currencies. As usual, I’ll focus on Euro loans here.

Interest rates on the platform tend to vary a lot based on supply and demand. Indeed, after enjoying interest rates as high as 15% during most of Spring and Summer 2019, the highest interest rates in late August 2019 went down to 12.5%; this figure climbed to an insane 26% during the Covid-19 crisis in early 2020.

However, as the highest rates are sometimes offered by dubious loan originators, they’re not a good indicator of the expected performance. Indeed, as we’ll soon see in detail, several lending companies on Mintos have defaulted. Investing through unreliable loan originators may thus result in a capital loss, which will in turn lead to a performance much lower than expected !

When it comes to reliable loan originators, interest rates are currently in low double-digits area, or sometimes even high single-digit area. For example, they currently stand around 11% for loans from reliable loan originators ESTO, 10.5% for Iute Credit, 10% for Eleving Group (formerly Mogo), and as low as 9.5% for Delfin Group.

In spite of the interest rates variation, the actual performance of my Mintos portfolio has been amazingly stable throughout between 2019 and 2021, roughly between 12.5% and 13.5%.

Around half of the available loans are personal loans, around one quarter are short-term loans and more than 15% are car loans. The remaining loans are spread between business loans, mortgage loans, agricultural loans and invoice financing.

With a very wide array of loans to invest in, it’s not surprising that durations vary greatly – from one month for payday loans to more than six years for car loans -.

Loans volume

As of August 2021, the cumulative volume of loans funded through Mintos is close to seven billion euro. Needless to say that this amount is huge and liquidity isn’t a concern !

Buyback guarantee

Most loans on Mintos are covered by a buyback guarantee. The delay necessary to trigger it is rather long (60 days). On the other hand, unlike other loan marketplaces such as Iuvo, all lending companies on Mintos use the same delay.

Once more, please realize that the buyback guarantee is provided by the loan originator, not the platform. As a result, it’s only meaningful if it comes from a reliable lending company. And as we’ll soon see, not all originators on Mintos offer the same level of financial stability !

In order to emphasize this fact, the guarantee actually got renamed “buyback obligation” by Mintos.

Platform’s transparency and reliability

Although Mintos is very successful, their track record in terms of reliability leaves much to be desired. The culprit isn’t the platform directly – although it lost money in 2019 and 2020 -, but rather the way they select the loan originators. Indeed, as we’re about to see, the platform’s focus on growth has lead to the presence of unreliable lending companies on the platform. This has in turn caused losses for investors as the originators ran into financial or regulatory troubles.

Overall transparency is good, though. Many statistics are publicly available, including information on suspended or defaulted loan originators. Similarly, the communication has much improved during the Covid-19 epidemics.

In addition, Mintos was granted two licenses. It is now a regulated European investment firm, and holds an electronic money institution license as well.

Mintos’s background and team

Mintos was founded in 2014 and has offices in Riga, Latvia. It’s much larger than most competitors. Indeed, the platform LinkedIn’s page lists around 200 employees. The top management is introduced on the platform’s website.

Financial reports are available for download. The 2019 report was audited by Ernst & Young, while the 2020 underwent an audit by KPMG Baltics. They show that Mintos lost money in both 2019 and 2020. Indeed, the loss for 2019 was close to one million euro in 2019. 2020 was even worse, with a loss close to two million euros.

In spite of this rather poor financial result, investors seem to trust Mintos. Indeed, the platform raised funds through a crowdfunding campaign in November 2020; it allowed the platform to collect more than seven million euros.

Loans descriptions

Little detail is provided about the borrowers, which isn’t a big deal. Indeed, for peer-to-peer loans, there’s little point in selecting loans manually.

Licensing & regulation

Mintos is among the first P2P platforms to be regulated. Indeed, it was granted two licenses in late Summer 2021 : an investment firm license, and an electronic money institution license.

As we’ll see, the licensing process has lead to several small evolutions on the platform. For example, Mintos now requires prospective investors to take a Suitability & Appropriateness assessment. The configuration of the dreaded auto-invest has also changed slightly.

However, most changes are yet to come. Among them, the introduction of Mintos Notes, which will be financial instruments backed by loans.

Loan originators reliability

As of Summer 2021, Mintos lists more than sixty active loan originators. Although this impressive number includes twenty defaulted or suspended lending companies, it’s still a very large figure.

This huge number of originators is both a strength and a weakness for Mintos.

Indeed, with so many originators available, it’s hard to avoid having sub-standard firms among them. In May 2018, EuroCent went bankrupt; it was the first one of a long list of defaults. Indeed, the Covid-19 crisis lead many poorly-run lending companies to go belly-up. As of August 2021, there are seventeen defaulted loan originators on the platform; three more got suspended for various reasons – most often because of delayed repayments -.

As recently as in late April 2021, loan originator E-Cash was suspended from the platform. Indeed, this lending company decided to wind down their business. The recovery process was much quicker than usual – a few months – but resulted in disastrous 35% recovery level. In other words, investors lost two thirds of their invested capital !

Continuing on the topic of lending companies, it’s also worth noting that the shareholders of Mintos and several originators (such as Mogo) overlap – I will once again refer to an insightful article by Kristaps Mors, which points out many possible conflict of interests -.

Kristaps Mors also wrote a very critical overview of Mintos loan originators. It’s a great wrap-up of the risks involved in investing blindly in high-yield loans; however, the listed amount considered as at risk (€118 million) needs to be put into perspective. Indeed, it’s only a small fraction of the overall invested funds on Mintos (more than six billion euros since its inception !).

I also strongly encourage prospective and current Mintos investors to read our article on Mintos loan originators; it will help reduce the risk of your Mintos portfolio.

Very few originators were onboarded in 2021. However, in August 2021, a large batch of lending companies joined the platform. Most of them are located in Mexico. Mintos itself rates most of them rather poorly, with the exception of GoCredit which looks like a reliable originator. I’m thus tempted to think that unfortunately, Mintos didn’t learn much from its past mistakes !

Finally, like most competitors, the platform uses a mechanism called “skin in the game”, which means that the originators have to keep a portion of the loans (usually 10%). This supposedly ensures that the originators provides quality loans, as they will be directly impacted if the borrower defaults. However, the large number of defaulted originators show that this mechanism isn’t exactly successful – raising it to a 30% level like Iuvo does would probably make it much more effective -.

Mintos risk score

Since August 2018, the platform started rating their originators, from A+ (safest companies) to D (defaulted originators). Long story short, there were many critics about the usefulness of these ratings. Indeed, many defaulted/suspended credit companies were still rated B by Mintos at the time of default or suspension.

In order to address most of these issues, Mintos unveiled their revamped risk rating (now called Mintos risk score) in October 2020. It’s computed in a more transparent way, based on four different criteria – including the efficiency of payments’ collection, or the ability to actually fulfill the buyback obligation -.

The risk score is updated regularly. The latest update took place in March 2021, and didn’t incur much change.

Many investors still aren’t convinced by the quality of Mintos evaluation. And unfortunately, facts seem to prove them right. Indeed, in early February 2021, negative news regarding originator Sun Finance in Denmark started to circulate on various Telegram channels. This lending company is accused of providing wrong information to borrowers. At this point, the risk score for Sun Finance Denmark was 7/10 ! A few days later, Mintos announced that they paused the placement of loans from this originator; this delay gave informed investors plenty of time to dump their loans on the secondary market.

In addition, an excellent source of independent ratings for Mintos loan originators is the ratings computed by Explore P2P. While they’re rather austere and following the changes is a painful task, I consider them a great guide to reduce the risk of my portfolio. For example, Sun Finance Denmark was rated only 48/100, which in my opinion reflects the risk much more accurately than Mintos risk score.

It’s possible to configure the auto-invest to use only selected risk scores. Mintos re-evaluates the scores every few months; investors are strongly advised to stay informed of these changes. The platform will also send notifications as new originators are added, giving investors the opportunity to include them in their auto-invest portfolio.

Track record

Mintos is probably the only platform where investors can get such a dramatically different performance depending on their allocation.

On a Mintos-related telegram channel, one investor mentioned that “Mintos is the best story in my crowdfunding book”, while another confirmed that it was “much more work than ViaInvest, Swaper or Lendermarket, but (his) returns are much higher”. On the other hand, the comments on Mintos blog are filled with stories of investors who lost money, such as this one.

The culprit is once again Mintos’ selection of loan originators – and of course, our own greed -.

Reporting & statistics availability

Mintos provides many statistics regarding the loan book. It also makes the whole loan book available for download, a rare feature.

Even statistics regarding defaulted/suspended lending companies are available. In addition, in case part of their funds are in recovery, investors will also receive a monthly report on the progress – or lack of progress – for the debt recovery process.

Competing platforms from past or current Mintos loan originators

In 2020, several loan originators created their own platform. The trend accelerated in late 2020 and early 2021, and there are now many platforms related to – or belonging to – former Mintos lending companies :

Loan originatorPlatform
Placet GroupMoncera
CreditStarLendermarket
KvikuKviku
StikCreditAfranga
CreamfinanceEsketit

Most of them keep on listing loans on Mintos, although sometimes at reduced interest rates. For example, Estonian loans listed by CreditStar on Mintos yield 14% annually, versus 15.1% at Lendermarket.

One may wonder if it’s better to keep on investing through Mintos, or to use each loan originator’s platform instead. In most cases, interest rates and loans supply on Mintos are likely to be lower. On the other hand, the loan marketplace provides unified buyback guarantee terms. Also, unlike several platforms such as Lendermarket or Afranga, it offers a secondary market.

Another aspect to consider is the relationship between the platform and the lending company. For example, Afranga belongs to Stikcredit and Esketit is part of to lending group CreamFinance. On the other hand, Lendermarket‘s ties to Placet Group used to looser; indeed, the platform was founded by two ex-employees. It was however incorporated into Moncera in August 2021. Yet another example is Lendermarket, which isn’t actually related to CreditStar, but has the same ultimate beneficial owner.

In the long run, lending companies may very well decide to leave Mintos. It’s already the case for StikCredit; indeed, they stopped listing loans on Mintos as soon as their own platform Afranga was available. They still list loans on Bondster, though.

Platform's features

Early exit

Early exit available

Investing methods

Auto-invest

Manual investing

Manual investing

While I encourage investors to take advantage of the auto-invest feature to save time, starting by investing manually can be less intimidating for beginner investors. While there are many available filters, the screen layout for manual investing looks much simpler than the auto-invest screen pictures below.

The filters include :

  • Currency
  • Interest rate
  • loan duration
  • Loan type
  • Borrower”s country
  • Originator and originator rating
  • Presence of a buyback guarantee
  • Status
  • Amortization method
  • Initial and current LTV (loan-to-value ratio)

Auto-invest

The first thing to know is that auto-invest is now called “custom strategies” at Mintos, which can be a bit disconcerting.

The configuration screen can be rather intimidating, as it’s possible to configure it extensively for each originator. Unfortunately, as the number of originators grew, the screen became less and less user-friendly.

Even worse : this screen underwent a major redesign in April 2021, and Mintos managed to make it even more complex. Indeed, lending companies from the same group were previously grouped together – but still could selected individually -. Now, each lending company has its own entry.

As a result, the list is very large. Worse, there’s no way to easily find out which group they belong to. Sure, the lending companies names are often similar (for example, “IuteCredit Albania SHA”, “O.C.N IUTE CREDIT S.R.L.” and “FC IuteCredit Macedonia DOOEL Skopje” for Iute), but it’s not always the case.

I can understand the reasoning behind this change : indeed, all lending companies in a same group aren’t all equally reliable. For example, the risk rating for the different loan originators in Iute group have Mintos scores between 6 and 8. At the same time, most investors will usually focus on the group-level, which makes things easier.

In practical terms, the first step when configuring the auto-invest is to restrict the displayed originators by using the selectors at the top. These allow to choose :

  • The risk score for the originator
  • The loans types
  • The borrower”s country
  • The presence or absence of a buyback obligation

Even after filtering out the lowest ratings, the auto-invest screen is still rather intimidating.

Once the displayed originators are filtered, investors will be able to check the ones they actually want to use. For each of them, it’s also possible to select or deselect each loan type and buyback guarantee presence individually.

I discovered that it’s possible to go even further. Indeed, a dropdown allows to filter even more precisely, for example by LTV, issue date or investment structure. Needless to say I’m confident that very few investors actually use this feature !

At the bottom of the screen, two sliders allow to select the interest rates interval, as well as the loans duration. Finally, investors have to choose the portfolio size as well as the minimal/maximal loan size.

Like most peer-to-peer platforms, there used to be an option to reinvest the reimbursed funds. It was removed in Summer 2021, supposedly because of the regulatory process – although I fail to see the link between these two topics -. Funds will thus be automatically reinvested. It’s still possible to pause the auto-invest, though.

A handy feature is the neat option to diversify the loans portfolio across the selected loans originators. This will help mitigate the risks in case things go wrong with one of them. I strongly encourage investors to use this option !

It’s important to note that the the diversification settings will be reset when making changes to auto-invest settings. By default, it will use the respective loans volume for each originator in order to determine the target allocation. Investors who want to switch to equal-weight distribution will have to specify it every time they change their auto-invest configuration !

The often overlooked “Show matching loans” button allows investors to see how many loans match the selected criteria, as well as their distribution by loan purpose, country and loan originator.

Similarly, the very discrete “Available loan report” button will download a PDF which sums up the overall Mintos loans distribution. For each currency, it shows the total volume of loan based on Mintos rating and interest rate.

Mintos available loan report
Mintos available loan report

Finally, one noteworthy point is that it’s possible to create custom strategies which operate only on the secondary market.

Our article on Mintos Strategies and Bondora Go & Grow provides a detailed overview of the way I actually create my Mintos custom strategies. To sum it up, I now use a separate custom strategy for each lending group – in my case, Iute Credit, Wowwo, EST and Eleving Group.

There are several benefits to this approach :

  • The auto-invest screen is much less cluttered, which reduces the risk of mistakes
  • It also allows me to choose different durations and interest rates for each originator
  • There’s no more need to bother activating the diversification option

Mintos' former and current alternative investment methods

In addition to the classical manual investing and auto-invest options, Mintos has gradually refined other options.

Pre-defined strategies were launched first; they were basically pre-configured auto-invests. Unfortunately, indicative returns were rather low.

In Spring 2019, Mintos launched Invest & Access. Its main selling point was its simplicity; the only configuration needed was the portfolio size. It was greatly successful among new investors; however, more advanced users wanted more flexibility, without having to resort to using the painful auto-invest screen.

Thus, in August 2020, Mintos mixed these two products together; they evolved into what’s simply called Mintos strategies. Let’s see how they now work, and how they differ from their previous iteration.

Mintos' strategies (formerly "Invest & Access")

Mintos strategies are only available for euro loans; They blend these two concepts, while retaining the ease of use of Invest & Access and the flexibility of the previous pre-defined strategies.

There are now three strategies available :

  • Diversified, which is similar to Invest & Access” settings.
  • Conservative, which will only invest in the most reliable loan originators. It will use different metrics, such as Mintos risk score, loan statuses for the originator, or volume of pending payments.
  • High-yield, which will invest in loans with the highest interest rates.

Using the Conservative method will prevent investing in Mintos’ most poorly rated originators. Indeed, in only includes originators with a Mintos risk score between 7 and 10. Unfortunately, as we already pointed out, the previous risk scores really weren’t foolproof and several originators rated B-, B or even B+ ended up being defaulted.

In contrast, the Diversified and High Yield strategies will invest in all loan originators; it makes them riskier, especially for small portfolios, which may suffer of a poor diversification. Mintos actually advises investors to have a portfolio size larger than €1,000 in order to get a proper diversification and decrease the risk.

What hasn’t changed is the ease of use which made Invest & Access a success. Once a strategy is selected, the only configuration required is the size of the target portfolio. That’s all ! This amount will be automatically allocated based on the selected strategy.

This simplicity makes it very easy for beginner investors to use Mintos. In addition, liquidating all or part of your portfolio is as simple as clicking a button; however, it will only sell current loans. Indeed, late loans will have to be sold manually on the secondary market – although it’s probably better to wait for buyback -.

However, I urge anyone who’s tempted to invest through Mintos Strategies – or, even worse, their competitor Bondora’s Go & Grow – to check out this article pointing the dangers of these investing methods and hinting at alternatives.

The minimal amount for Invest & Access used to be €500, but Mintos has since decreased it to €10. However, as pointed out previously, a small portfolio size may lead to very bad returns in case one originator defaults.

Secondary market

There’s a secondary market available, should you ever want to resell your loans. It used to be free for a long time, but the platform resumed charging a fee in Spring 2020. It’s currently 0.85% of the amount.

Thanks to the large demand from Invest & Access investors, selling loans through the secondary market is usually rather fast – especially when applying a discount -. However, at the peak of the Covid-19 crisis, it basically took forever to sell any loan, even with a large discount. Indeed, there was nearly no demand for loans, while at the same time many concerned investors were trying to decrease their portfolio’s size.

Website’s ease of use

Languages

English, Czech, German, Spanish, Latvian, Polish, Russian, Dutch

Funding methods

Available languages & translations quality

Mintos‘ website is available in many languages; the English translation is excellent.

Mintos's registration process

Registering as an investor at Mintos is quick and easy. When it comes to the KYC KYC (Know Your Customer) checks are procedures used by financial businesses in order to verify the identity of their clients. Most Crowdlending platforms will require a copy of an identification document (identity card, passport, driving licence); an utility bill or bank statement may be necessary as well. procedure, Mintos has chosen Veriff. It allows for a quick and smooth identify verification check.

In addition, as Mintos is now a regulated entity, investors must answer several questions in order to assess their level of financial knowledge. The platform may then restrict the investing choices to the ones it deems less risky.

Account funding and funds withdrawal

It’s possible to fund your Mintos account either by SEPA transfer, Trustly or Wise.

Website’s design and ergonomics

Mintos‘ website is well designed and looks great. It’s easy to navigate and use most features; as I already mentioned, the only exception is probably the auto-invest screen.

On the other hand, the various screens or the navigation system are sometimes re-designed in order to accommodate new features. These changes may take some time to get used to. A striking example was at some point, several investors were desperately searching how to invest manually !

Reporting

All standard reporting features are available at Mintos; both account statement and current investments can be exported as an Excel file.

In addition, I greatly appreciate being able to evaluate the diversification of my portfolio through a pie chart showing the originators; it’s also very easy to see the overall interest rates or durations. I only wish the fonts were slightly larger !

A long-standing complaint about Mintos reporting – which became more and more acute as new loan originators defaulted – was that the dashboard didn’t differentiate between funds in transit and funds in recovery. This has been fixed in summer 2020, and both figures are now properly displayed.

Documentation

There’s a lot of documentation available ! If the How it works sections is too generic to my taste, the Getting started guide is informative, albeit slightly too concise. The FAQ is really complete and will answer most investors’ questions.

Mintos App

There’s an app for Mintos, available for both Android and iPhone. It offers a rather complete portfolio overview. Paradoxically, the charts are more readable on a smartphone than when viewing Mintos website on a laptop or desktop computer !

It’s also possible to create a new strategy, fund your account or withdraw money.

Communication & support

E-mail notifications from Mintos are configurable. It’s possible to choose to receive a daily summary e-mail, as well as notifications for deposits, withdrawals and bonus payments. In addition, opting-in to Mintos’ informative weekly newsletter is highly recommended !

The platform’s blog also makes for a good read as it serves to announce noteworthy changes.

In addition, investors are strongly recommended to join the unofficial Mintos Discussion Group on Telegram in order to get timely news regarding the platform’s originators. Indeed, they often surface there two or three days before getting published on Mintos – which, in case of a negative event, may result in the originator being suspended -. This delay is usually enough for investors to preserve their invested capital by dumping their loans on the secondary market !

Official Mintos pages on social networks

Support

It’s possible to get in touch with Mintos support by e-mail, live chat or phone.

Actual performance of my Mintos portfolio

12,63%

At the end of October 2021, the XIRR for my Mintos portfolio was 12,63%.

The performance for this portfolio is rather stable, in spite of the sometimes sudden changes of interest rates. I expect it to decrease slightly as I got rid of my loans from risky originators in order to focus only on reliable ones.

Don't hesitate to read my most recent crowdlending portfolio review for detailed platforms performance comparison as well as historical performance.

For a detailed comparison of the different p2p-lending marketplaces, check out this article.

Portfolio creation date

I created my Mintos portfolio in November 2016

Mintos's main competitors

Mintos's facts & figures

Location

Riga, Latvia

Founding year

2014

Number of investors

447,569

Loans amount financed

€7,380,982,791

As of November 2021

Who can invest at Mintos

Both individuals and entities can invest through Mintos. Individual investors must be at least 18 years old, have a bank account in the European Union or third countries currently considered to have AML/CFT systems equivalent to the EU, and have their identity successfully verified by Mintos.

Family trusts, partnerships, limited liability companies and other organizations must have a bank account and be registered in the EU or third countries currently considered to have AML/CFT systems equivalent to the EU.

UK citizens, residents or taxpayers currently can’t invest on Mintos.

Mintos FAQ

In conclusion...

Many investors have expressed their frustration towards Mintos as many originators defaulted. I agree that Mintos' risk evaluation could be much improved - the methodology change associated with the switch to Mintos risk scores is a good step in the right direction, albeit not sufficient -.

However, in most cases, a well-managed Mintos portfolio can easily deliver double-digit returns with minimal risk. For intermediate/advanced investors, this platform is an absolute must. With the help of ExploreP2P's ratings for Mintos, they will achieve great returns with a minimal efforts. However, Mintos may not be a good platform for beginner investors; I especially recommend them to stay away from Mintos Strategies, and use our recommended alternatives instead.

More generally, I strongly advise investors to stick to the highest-rated originators, and spread their investments evenly among them. As already noted, investing in loans from Placet Group and CreditStar may be more interesting on Moncera and Lendermarket respectively, rather than using Mintos.

Disclosure

Please note that this review may contain affiliate links. It means that I will earn a commission if you decide to invest after clicking through the link – at no additional cost to you, of course -. Please understand that I have experienced all of these companies, and I recommend them because they are helpful and useful, not because of the commissions I make if you decide to invest through my links.

15 thoughts on “Mintos review”

    • Many thanks for pointing this out ! I fixed this stupid mistake, and changed my #1 resolution for 2019 to “learn some geography” 🙂

      Have a great day !

      Reply
  1. FYI

    In 2017, I invested in GEL currency loans as well.
    I fully agree that the currency conversion rate delivered by MINTOS killed the expected high yields.

    Then I moved to RUB and KZT currency loans using now TRANSFERWISE and PAYSERA.
    So far (after 10 months), my RUB and KZT shares are growing nice and slow: no bad debts and XIRR around 17%.
    Give it a try, eventually…

    Reply
  2. Really interesting but can someone please explain to me how this guy (link below) is making 19%+ yearly returns on the P2P platform Mintos after all fees/costs in EURO??! He talks about some interesting strategies but wanted to hear some outside opinions too.
    http://mintosboyz.com/

    Reply
  3. Mintos is good platform with rapidly growing investor and Loan Originator count. Easy to use and understand. So far so good!
    Would recommend to everyone.
    [spam removed]

    Reply
  4. If you set an auto-invest portfolio, the system will look through the already existing offered loans, or only the new ones coming out?

    Reply
    • Mintos (and actually all other platforms AFAIK) will use the existing loans. It means that if your criteria allow it, your funds will be invested instantly. Of course, if your criteria are too strict, the system will have to wait for new loans to eventually match your auto-invest settings.

      Reply
      • Actually Mintos Auto Invest does not seem to work this way; after selecting a list of criteria the saved strategy keeps only the criterias for which there are loan originators available at the time the strategy was created.
        So apparently if someone wants to apply all chosen criteria he will have to create a new strategy when the corresponding loans will be available.

        Reply
        • Hi Michael,

          Thanks for pointing out that my explanation isn’t exactly crystal-clear ! What I mean is that the combo boxes at the top can be used instead of checking boxes for each and every originator. However, this is a indeed a static mechanism; for example, if an originator offers loan in a new country, one still has to update the auto-invest by checking it manually (or play with the combo boxes again).

          I will try to rewrite my description in a better way – unfortunately I sometimes struggle to express what I really want as English isn’t my mother tongue –

          Have a great day !

          Reply
  5. I personally am wondering if platforms focusing on consumer loans have a future in the long term.
    Having all these high rate consumer loans given to borrower without most of the time any asset securing them isn’t the safest way.
    The model make me think about the subprimes. I am wondering what would happen if the market crashes.
    Therefore I would preferably invest in projects/loans that are backed by assets such as in real estate investments from platforms like crowdestate.

    For the rest, I believe Mintos works great and provides great flexibility in the investments.

    Reply
    • Good points. Instead of Mintos’ own ratings, I suggest this website: https://explorep2p.com/mintos-lender-ratings/
      There you can see how the two major OP’s loan originators have negative equities and negative latest profit.
      I personally avoid these, as they are the more likely to default, even though that data is relatively old.

      Also, even if the loan is assets backed, the risk is still mainly linked to the LOs. Really, good luck getting your money back once the LO defaults and Mintos by policy stops any secondary market trading.

      Great platform though, very attractive!

      Reply
  6. Excellent review! Mintos is coming a little more risky, looking at the recent LO defaults. Interest rates dropped a lot in few months (for me from 13 to 10.70%) and those where supposed to increase again at year-end. But it didn’t happen. So I’m looking for good alternative platforms to invest in, like Grupeer and the likes.

    Reply
    • Indeed ! I had it right in the table above, but this one was clearly a mistake. It’s fixed now. Many thanks & enjoy your day!

      Reply

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.