Robocash review

Robocash’s overview

Through Robocash, investors can invest mostly in very short-term (one month) personal loans or in longer-term commercial loans, yielding 12% annually. All loans on the platform come with a buyback guarantee which triggers after one month.

My opinion on Robocash

After the September, 1st interest rates decrease, Robocash now offer rates lower than Swaper and Lendermarket, and overall slightly higher than Moncera. Unfortunately, in terms of website ergonomics, the platform really lags behind all of these competitors.

In spite of this, the financial solidity of the platform’s parent group incite me to grant Robocash the same rating as Moncera.

Detailed ratings

Actual performance

My portfolio’s performance is in line with the platform’s interest rates, and is reasonable given the platform’s reliability.

Loans liquidity

The loans volume is currently large enough to prevent the past cash drags.

Reporting

The statistics are rather complete, but like for the remaining of the website, their readability and usability could be improved.

Transparency & reliability

Although the information on the platform is a bit scattered, Robocash and their loan originators seem to be reliable, and the platform is overall rather transparent.

Website ergonomics

The platform’s website could be more polished.

Robocash’s pros & cons

Pros

  • Reliability of the platform’s parent company (Robocash Group)
  • Interesting geographical diversification in Asia

Cons

Loans characteristics

Loans duration

Short-term : one month or less

Medium-term : one month to one year

Loans kinds

Individual

Business

Minimal investment

€ 10

Buyback guarantee

Buyback guarantee available

Currencies

EUR – Euro

Overview of Robocash’s loans

All Robocash loans are in Euro. Interest rates on the platform tend to change regularly, alternating between 12% and 14%. They were increased to 14% in Spring 2020, before returning to 12% on September, 1st. They also used to depend on the borrower’s country, but they are now the same for all loans.

As of January 2021, most available loans are long-term (one year) commercial loans from Singapore. Loans from Spain, Kazakhstan and Spain are currently absent from the platform. It’s a large change from a few months ago, when most loans were issued in Kazakhstan.

Long-term loans from Singapore and Vietnam used to be “full bullet”, which means both principal and interests were reimbursed at maturity date. However, in September 2020, the platform announced that from now on, these loans would be repaid monthly. That’s great news for investors looking for a regular cash-flow !

PeerBerry’s Customer Loyalty Program

In late September 2020, Robocash unveiled their Loyalty program. Competitors Swaper and PeerBerry already offered such a feature for a long time.

The minimal investment amount required to qualify is € 5,000 (Bronze status), which results in an additional 0.3% interest rate. The maximum bonus is 1%, for amounts larger than € 25,000. Two intermediary levels exist, with thresholds at € 10,000 and € 15,000.

Swaper’s rewards are much more generous. Indeed, this platform grants an additional 2% interest rate for portfolios larger than € 5,000. PeerBerry’s threshold is € 10,000, which results in a 0.5% bonus. This figure increases to 1% when investing more than € 40,000.

Loans volume

Like Swaper, Robocash used to suffer from cash drags. Indeed, in October – November 2017, the platform struggled to invest all my funds. Later, for most of 2018, I usually had around 10% of my portfolio which didn’t get invested.

Fortunately, in 2019 and early 2020, the loans supply seems to be large enough after the platform expanded their business in several Asian countries. As a result, I don’t have idle funds anymore.

As of January 2021, the volume of available loans is close to half a million euros.

Buyback guarantee

The buyback guarantee triggers after a reimbursement is delayed by the borrower for longer than 30 days. It covers both principal and accrued interests. This delay is the same as for many competitors.

Platform’s transparency and reliability

One could expect a platform which such a cheap-looking website to be rather opaque. However, nothing would be further from the truth !

Indeed, in terms of transparency and reliability, Robocash is doing very well. However, a lot of information will actually be found on the platform’s parent group Robocash Group rather than on the platform’s website itself.

I tend to put a lot of trust in ExploreP2P‘s ratings. Robocash is rated 78/100 there, the second highest rating after Moncera when it comes to loan originators’ own platforms. It’s an additional confirmation of the platform’s solidity !

Robocash’s background and team

Robocash was founded by Robocash Group in 2017, in order to fund the growth of their loans portfolio. Their headquarter was initially located in Riga, Latvia but moved to Zagreb, Croatia in 2019. This is a rather unusual choice among P2P platforms. No actual reason was given for this relocation.

Robocash Group’s management is introduced on the website. The group has a LinkedIn page as well.

I greatly appreciate the fact that financial statements for Robocash Group are available. The statement for 2019 was released in August 2020. It was audited by KPMG, one of the leading accounting organizations. It reveals that just like the previous years, Robocash Group was profitable last year. Indeed, their profit for 2019 was close to € 14,000,000.

Please note that this graph displays figures in US dollars.

Even during the first Covid-19 wave, the platform continued to perform very well. According to an interim report for the first semester 2020, this period saw a profit around ten million dollars.

Loans descriptions

Most P2P platform display details about borrowers such as age, gender, location, employment and so on. Robocash provide zero information about them. However, it actually makes sense, as it’s impossible to invest manually on this platform.

Loan originators reliability

There are currently four loan originators available on Robocash; they are all subsidiaries of Robocash Group. They each issue loans on a specific country.

  • Prestamer in Spain
  • Robocash Vietnam in Vietnam
  • Robocash PTE in Singapore
  • Tez Finance in Kazakhstan

The website provides a few details about each of them, including the loan agreement.

There used to be more originators, but two of them were removed in 2019. Moreover, in late 2019, the Philippines originator Robocash Finance Corp. was barred from operating, due to a license problem. Fortunately, this didn’t lead to any loss for investors.

Reporting & statistics availability

In addition to the financial reports for Robocash Group, a few figures are available regarding the platform’s loan portfolio. For example, the total loans volume is provided. We can see that it roughly doubles every year.

Track record

Robocash is doing rather well compared to loan marketplaces such as Mintos or Viventor, which feature many more originators. There’s been no loss for investors, in spite of the platform stopping operations in some countries.

Communication & support

Apart from notification when transferred money reaches your investor’s account, the platform doesn’t communicate much by e-mail.

However, Robocash manages an official Telegram channel where relevant news are posted. For example, the availability of the latest financial report was announced there.

In terms of support, there’s a contact form available on the website. In addition to this, it’s possible to get in touch with Robocash by e-mail or phone.

Platform’s features

Early exit

Early exit available

Investing methods

Auto-invest

Manual investing at Robocash

It’s not possible to invest manually; use of auto-invest is mandatory. I don’t consider this a drawback, as picking peer-to-peer loans by hand is a loss of time.

Auto-invest

While the initial auto-invest screen had several rather confusing labels, it’s been redesigned. It is now easier to understand, although there’s still room for improvement.

Auto-invest screen at Robocash

It’s possible to configure the auto-invest to buy loans from the secondary market, a feature that most competitors don’t provide.

One useful aspect of the auto-invest screen is that it provides a good overview of the loans provided by each originator :

  • Operating country
  • Interest rate
  • Loan duration

Secondary market

Before the introduction of longer-term loans, Robocash didn’t feature a secondary market. Due to the very short loans duration, it wasn’t really a drawback. Now that the platform provides loans longer than one month, it’s possible to sell them on the secondary market.

It’s quite hard to find out how to sell the loans. From the investments list, the loans that can be sold have a checkbox on their left; the chosen color makes it nearly invisible. On the following screenshot, the two first loans are not checked yet, while I selected the two next loans.

How to sell loans on Robocash
How to sell loans on Robocash

Selling your loans on the secondary market is free, and the loans are always sold at face value.

Website’s ease of use

Languages

English, German, Spanish, Russian

Funding methods

Robocash’s registration process

Registration is quick and relatively easy, although once again the translations for several labels are a bit weird.

Account funding and funds withdrawal

Website’s design and ergonomics

Robocash website is globally easy to use, but the interface is far from being as streamlined as most competitors. It especially pales when compared to Swaper‘s or Lendermarket‘s beautifully designed websites !

One minor annoyance is that if you ever want to see a loan agreement, it isn’t displayed in your browser but downloaded as a Word document.

In April 2020, a webcast mentioned an upcoming website redesign; however, there was no follow-up. I thus thought this project got canceled. A recent post proved me wrong; indeed, the new website is expected to be unveiled soon.

Available languages & translations quality

The English version isn’t as well translated as for most competitors, but is legible enough.

Reporting

The reporting is rather complete; investors have access to the investments list, the transactions report, as well as several statistics about their portfolio. Unfortunately, as is too often the case for crowdlending platforms, no XIRR value for the portfolio is provided. Instead, Robocash displays the portfolio’s average interest rate.

For long-term investors, one useful statistic is the amount of accrued interests which didn’t get paid yet.

Documentation

The website features a rather expansive FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions). In spite of the sometimes weird translation, it’s quite useful.

Actual performance of my Robocash portfolio

12,91%

At the end of December 2020, the XIRR for my Robocash portfolio was 12,91%.

The performance of my Robocash portfolio got a nice boost thanks to a bonus granted for being among the first investors. Many former loans yielding 12% gradually got replaced by loans with 14% interest rates, which should increase the performance even more... before it decreases again, following the trend of the reduced interest rates.

Don't hesitate to read my most recent crowdlending portfolio review for detailed platforms performance comparison as well as historical performance.

Portfolio creation date

I created my Robocash portfolio in September 2017.

Robocash's main competitors

For a detailed comparison of the different p2p-lending marketplaces, check out this article.

Robocash's facts & figures

Location

Zagreb, Croatia

Founded in

2017

Number of investors

6,014

Loans amount financed

€ 138,059,128

As of January 2021

Who can invest at Robocash

Any person age of 18, who has a bank account in one of the European Union countries, can become an investor on Robocash.

Robocash FAQ

In conclusion...

With a re-designed interface, Robocash would deserve an additional half-star rating. However, even with the current website, the platform's financial solidity is well worth the little effort required to invest !

Disclosure

Please note that this review may contain affiliate links. It means that I will earn a commission if you decide to invest after clicking through the link – at no additional cost to you, of course -. Please understand that I have experienced all of these companies, and I recommend them because they are helpful and useful, not because of the commissions I make if you decide to invest through my links.

4 thoughts on “Robocash review”

  1. Hi!
    As I know Robocash buyback doesnt compensate you interest for late 30 days, only principal, so your effective xirr will be always below 14%

    Reply
    • Hi Eduard,

      The buyback guarantee also covers the interests.

      The FAQ clearly states “If the borrower delays payment, we will buy the investor’s share at the purchase price and will pay all the interest due.”.

      Have a nice day

      Jérôme

      Reply

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.